jump to navigation

More about Blogging at Intro to IT December 8, 2006

Posted by L Wolfe in Class Stuff.
trackback

I was asked by my boss and mentor, Barb Knotts, to speak at the class about blogging along with Katie LaBarbera, SLPL’s Virtual Chat Librarian, who spoke about virtual reference. For those of you unfortunate enough to hear me speak, I have to say it was a vast improvement from past performances. Being without power actually helped–I couldn’t obsess and over prepare. However, as usual, I thought about all the things I wanted to say but didn’t so here goes:

First, I forgot to tell the class about how great Barb is. They probably already know that, having her as an instructor, but it can’t compare to working for her (or with her, as she makes it). Under her tutelage, I have learned so much about library culture, management, and technology. I cannot thank her enough for hiring me for the “regular” and not the 13 week position for which I applied because “you just won’t get enough experience.” Anyone who has the chance to work with her should jump at it immediately.

Now to blogging: I also left out why I started this blog in particular. Karen Robinson, another wonderful instructor in our program, mentioned in the Management of IA class that the relationships she formed with other students have been long lasting and important to her. With a distance learning program such as ours, time in class has been limited but very enjoyable. I could see that I would like to keep in contact with other students and alumni I have met. They are such a diverse and interesting group. Plus so supportive! I could also see a need to strengthen the St. Louis student community. Anyone who reads the listserv can see that at lot more seems to go on in Columbia, and the group seems closer. So anyway, thanks Karen, for that inspiration.

I’m sure there is a lot more I forgot, stuff I remembered on the way home but didn’t bother to write down since the only light waiting for me was candlelight. I was very impressed by the class, and found it so much fun to see all the new faces. How cool is that to have so many different types of people interested in library science? We need them all.

Comments»

1. Jenny Parsons - December 8, 2006

First of all– thanks, Lisa. That was nice of you to say so.

And about your speaking– I think you don’t do yourself justice! Your presentation was fine; I actually learned a lot about blogs and got interested in them. I’m thinking about doing a blog for some of my other projects, too!

2. heyheypaula - December 8, 2006

I thought your presentations in the past were great…especially the summer. And I agree…Barb’s class is really great. I wish everyone could take it in their first semester. I have yet to meet anyone who didn’t love it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

